Afghan for Clark

Standard

So I made my bother a blanket for his birthday. I got the pattern from http://www.yarnspirations.com/patterns/grey-scale-blanket.html

Now either I did something wrong or there is something wrong with pattern because when followedthe instructions and used a 10mm hook and did 115 chains the width was much bigger then they said and to do the number of rows they suggested I need much more yarn.

To follow the pattern I used the following Bernat Blanket Yarn: http://www.yarnspirations.com/blanket.html

  • 5 x Main colour (Dark grey)
  • 4 x second colour (White)
  • 2 x last colour (Pale grey)

To use up as much yarn as possible because I didn’t need any leftover I did the following:

  • 11 x rows of main colour (They suggested 10 rows)
  • 11 x rows of second colour (They suggested 10 rows)
  • 6 x rows of last colour (They suggested 5 rows)
  • 6 x rows of main colour (They suggested 5 rows)
  • 6 x rows of last colour (They suggested 5 rows)
  • 11 x rows of second colour (They suggested 10 rows)
  • 11 x rows of main colour (They suggested 10 rows)

Total of 62 rows which made the blanket roughly 9 feet by 5 feet which was ok with me since my brother is tall and this way he could wrap the blanket under his feet.

What do you think!!

 

Blanket for Clark May 2015 B

7 responses »

  1. I have been pondering this for a few days, because the ball count doesn’t seem right. I think there is a problem with the pattern, NOT you.

    It calls for 25 total rows of main color, and 4 balls.
    Then 20 rows of color A, and 1 ball.
    How can 5 rows suddenly tale 3 balls of yarn???

    As for the initial chain being way longer, I think that is true since it gets shortened by the”waves”.

    So far I’m half way through the first row, so I will see how mine turns out.

  2. I finished my blanket this week, and I’m so in love with it! I used baby teal instead of grey and baby white instead of cream.

    I used the P size hook that is 11.5mm. Other than that I followed the directions exactly. My blanket wound up being about 4.25 feet wide and just over 6 feet long.

    Mine used 4 balls of the main color (teal), 3 of color A (white), and 2 of color B (dark grey). I have probably 1/2 a ball left of each color.

    Here is the link to a picture of my blanket. https://flic.kr/p/wvxjmy

    • Yes the measurements they give you are crazy I had someone else contact on this blog to tell me the same thing. But in the end my brother really liked that is was long so he could curl up under it……keep trying

Leave a Reply

